Kavakos plays Shostakovich

“He plays it … like one born to it”, The Guardian wrote about Leonidas Kavakos’ performance of Shostakovich’s 1st Violin Concerto.  The intense work, full of anguish and fury, dates from 1948, but Shostakovich only dared publish it after the suffocating censorship of the Stalinist regime was over. Tchaikovsky lived long before Stalin, and could draw with impunity upon the darker layers of his soul in writing his 5th Symphony. The tragedy of a destiny that prevails over all is evident in every note of this work.


Guillaume Connesson – Maslenitsa (2011) 

Dmitri Shostakovich – Vioolconcerto nr. 1 in a, op. 77

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Symfonie nr. 5 in e, op. 64


Concert Leonidas Kavakos

Cat I €32 / €28 / €7

Cat II €26 / €22 / €7


De Bijloke  | Godhuizenlaan 2  | 9000 Ghent

public transportation: stops Bijlokehof, Bijloke, Verlorenkost, Van Nassaustraat

bicycle: at the entrance of STAM there is a covered and surveilled bicycle storage

parking: Godshuizenlaan/Bijlokehof/Jozef Kluyskensstraat (underground parking at walking distance)


19:15 – introduction (Kraakhuis)

93’ (excl. break)