Takemitsu, Debussy, Beethoven

Of the five Elements, air is the one that probably best captures the imagination: intangible, invisible, yet essential for life and inspiring.

To begin with, a light and almost transparent work by the Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu: How Slow the Wind. Instead of following traditional Japanese music, he drew on Western composers such as Debussy. His Nocturnes are an impressive triptych in which he tried to capture slowly changing breaths with their subtle colours in music.

All this natural beauty comes together in Beethoven’s Pastoral Symphony. In his ode to nature and the beloved countryside, a storm sweeps the air clean.


Toru Takemitsu How Slow the Wind

Claude Debussy Nocturnes

Ludwig Van Beethoven Sinfonie Nr. 6 in F-Dur, op. 68 “Pastorale”


Jun Märkl

Tickets Kortrijk - Stadsschouwburg


tel: 056/23.9855

More information: www.cultuurcentrumkortrijk.be/ck/


Stadsschouwburg  | Schouwburgplein 14  | 8500 Kortrijk


75 (excl. intermission) | coprod. Festival van Vlaanderen Kortrijk