A programme full of contrasts: between symphonic sonority and vocal intensity, for example. Or between the composers, all from the far North, all from the contemporary era but each with a very distinctive approach and vision of composing. Some withdrawn and individual (such Pärt and Tormis), others belonging to a collective of like-minded musicians (Bjarnason), but all of them immune to any dictates regarding style.


Anna Thorvaldsdottir • Heyr þú oss himnum á (2005)
Veljo Tormis • Ouverture n° 2
Sven-David Sandström
Laudamus te
Daníel Bjarnason • Processions I, II, III (2009)
Arvo Pärt • In Principio I, II, III, IV, V


buy tickets