Frédéric Devreese, the father of Belgian film music, turns 90 next year. Reason enough for Brussels Philharmonic and Flagey to honour this exceptional composer with a musical portrait.

The importance of Devreese’s work cannot be underestimated. As a film music composer he has made a name for himself with haunting scores for virtually all of André Delvaux’s films, including ‘Benvenuta’ and ‘L'Oeuvre au Noir’.

But his work is much broader than that: he has written four piano concertos, one violin concerto, a symphony, chamber music, two operas, ballet suites and lieder, and in 1983 he was commissioned to compose the compulsory work for the Queen Elizabeth Competition.


Frédéric Devreese • Passage
Frédéric Devreese • Benvenuta Suite, No. 1
Frédéric Devreese
Piano Concerto No. 4
Frédéric Devreese L'Œuvre au Noir, suite No. 2