This concert took place on 23 January in the concert hall without a live audience: you can rewatch the livestream until 30 January 2021.

🎟️🎫 Tickets (€5) available.


Igor Stravinsky and Sergei Prokofiev. Two great Russian masters who greatly influenced music history – and in turn did not hide their admiration for their illustrious predecessors: our thanks to Bach and Haydn, therefore, for the inspiration that gave us these two works!


livestream in collaboration with Evil Penguin TV
with the support of the Belgian Tax Shelter

“I played Bach regularly during the composition of the Concerto, and was greatly attracted to the “Brandenburg” Concertos. Whether or not the first theme of my [first] movement is a conscious borrowing from the third Brandenburg, however, I do not know.” — Igor Stravinsky

Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos were clearly playing on a loop at Igor Stravinsky’s place while he was writing ‘Dumbarton Oaks’, named for the villa of the patrons who commissioned the work, Mildred and Robert Wood Bliss. The musical gift for their 30th wedding anniversary was a wonderfully colourful and energetic piece.

In Prokofiev’s case, it was not Bach but Haydn who served as the inspiration: he composed his 1st Symphony, which bears the appropriate title of ‘the classical’, as if it were the work of an 18th-century master. The style, the orchestration, the instrumentation: all classical, but unquestionably interwoven with Prokofiev’s own 20th-century sensibility.


new video series featuring chamber music by musicians of the Brussels Philharmonic: Duo Astérope - Emmanuel Tondus (cello) & Damien Bossy (piano)

Guillaume Connesson
Les Chants de l’Agartha (I-III)

Sergei Rachmaninov
Sonata for Cello & Piano in G minor, op. 19: III. Andante ​


Igor Stravinsky
Concerto in E-flat, ‘Dumbarton Oaks’

Sergei Prokofiev
Symphony in D major, op. 25, ‘Classical Symphony’

discover more

programme booklet

Want to learn more about tonight's programme? Download the program booklet.

download programme booklet


The Brussels Philharmonic musicians on stage for tonight's concert.

download list of musicians

symfomania! (8+)

Playing, singing, drawing, listening... and mostly: enjoying Prokofiev's Classical Symphony! Discover this fun kit for young music loving do-it-yourselfers.

download symfomania! diy

Dumbarton Oaks

Would you like to know more about the mansion that was the inspiration for Stravinsky's concerto? Discover how it looks today and everything it harbours.

discover more


Stravinsky and Prokofiev were not just excellent composers, but also very driven conductors. Discover a list of them conducting their own works on Spotify.

listen here

Poulenc in action

Watch the clip and enjoy Poulenc performing on the piano!

watch the clip


This concert will take place in the concert hall without a live audience: you can watch the concert via the livestream.

🎟️🎫 Buy your tickets (€5) here!
Livestream available untill 30 January.