1935: Grand Symphonic Orchestra of the NIR

Brussels Philharmonic was founded in 1935 by the Belgian public broadcasting service (NIR), under the name Grand Symphonic Orchestra. The orchestra was charged with the important task of bringing the ‘serious’ repertoire to the Belgian public: Belgian and Flemish music, untapped music scores from the past, familiar 19th-century work and new, contemporary music. The focus lay mainly on the latter thanks to the former directors, Franz André and Paul Collaer.

Big names in Flagey

The orchestra was regularly placed in the hands of famous foreign conductors, such as Leonard Bernstein, Darius Milhaud, Paul Sacher, Albert Wolff and Benjamin Britten. Also, composers such as Stravinsky, Prokofiev, Hindermith, Bartók and later Messiaen were frequent visitors to Brussels and Flagey's Studio 4, as one the world’s best when it comes to acoustics, and they considered the Grand Symphonic Orchestra to be one of the best orchestras in the world.

CffOR: 21st-century focus

These days Brussels Philharmonic remains ‘true to its roots’ and performs a varied and diverse repertoire. Keeping this clear focus on today’s and tomorrow’s symphonic music, music director Stéphane Denève joined the orchestra to launch the new platform CffOR (Centre for Future Orchestral Repertoire) about symphonic compositions as from 2000.

Contemporary music is the common theme running through every project: “We are performing works that can become the repertoire of the 21st-century: we aim to find those pieces that musicians in the orchestra love to play and the public loves to hear, and launch a broad global dialogue. It’s a pioneering project!”

International

Brussels Philharmonic has always had its own spot on the international stage, with invitations right from early on to the most important European festivals and regular dates in the large European capitals (Paris, London, Berlin, Vienna, Salzburg). With IMG Touring as its international representative, the orchestra is extending to new stages, both in Europe and beyond. In 16-17 this included an extensive tour to Japan, and in 18-19 a tour is planned to the east coast of the United States.

Film music

Something else that Brussels Philharmonic specialises in on an international scale is the performing and recording of soundtracks for films, series and games. Being a broadcasting orchestra there is a historic and genuine link with film music, which the orchestra has been conscious to develop since becoming independent in 1998.

The lasting partnership with Film Fest Gent took the orchestra to the studio and on stage with great names such as Howard Shore, Hans Zimmer, Angelo Badalamenti, Craig Armstrong, Alan Silvestri and many others. International fame followed with awards such as the Golden Globe for ‘The Aviator’ (music by Howard Shore) and the Oscar for ‘The Artist’ (music by Ludovic Bource).

Next generation

In 2017 Brussels Philharmonic launched BOENK! Brussels Young Philharmonic, a new symphonic youth orchestra in Brussels run by and for young people between the ages of 15 and 25. With refreshing programmes and challenging performance options BOENK! is a hub for ensembles and enjoyment. Young music lovers are also given the opportunity to gain orchestral experience with professional guidance from Brussels Philharmonic.

For the professional musicians of the future there is the brand new Youth Orchestra Flanders. This aims to help promising musicians develop their talents in a professional environment by offering orchestral experience with the support of Brussels Philharmonic, Antwerp Symphony Orchestra and the Symphonic Orchestra of the Flemish Opera Ballet.

Brussels Philharmonic is, together with the Vlaams Radio Koor, an institution supported by the Flemish Community.

1935 : le Grand Orchestre Symphonique de l’INR

Fondé par l’Institut National de Radiodiffusion (INR), le Brussels Philharmonic a vu le jour en 1935 sous le nom de Grand Orchestre Symphonique. Sa mission première consistait à faire découvrir le répertoire dit sérieux au grand public belge : la musique belge et flamande, les partitions encore inexplorées du passé, les trésors du 19e siècle et la nouvelle musique contemporaine. La direction de l’époque, assurée par Franz André et Paul Collaer, misait tout particulièrement sur ce dernier point.

Les grands noms de Flagey

L’orchestre jouait régulièrement sous la direction de chefs d’orchestre étrangers réputés. Citons Leonard Bernstein, Darius Milhaud, Paul Sacher, Albert Wolff ou encore Benjamin Britten. Ajoutons-y quelques grands compositeurs tels Stravinsky, Prokofiev, Hindermith, Bartók ou, plus tard, Messiaen, qui faisaient régulièrement le déplacement jusqu’à Bruxelles pour profiter de l’incomparable acoustique du Studio 4 de Flagey, et qui considéraient le Grand Orchestre Symphonique comme un des meilleurs au monde.

CffOR : pleins feux sur le 21e siècle

Fidèle à ses racines, le Brussels Philharmonic explore un répertoire aussi riche que varié et continue à mettre l’accent sur la musique symphonique d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Pour preuve, le projet initié par son directeur musical Stéphane Denève, en collaboration avec l’orchestre : la nouvelle plateforme numérique CffOR (Centre for Future Orchestral Repertoire), qui regroupe toutes les œuvres symphoniques créées depuis l’an 2000.

En fil rouge de chaque projet : la musique de notre temps. « Les œuvres que nous jouons pourraient devenir le répertoire du 21e siècle ; nous misons sur les compositions que les orchestres auront envie de jouer et que le public aura envie de venir écouter, avec la volonté d’initier un vaste dialogue mondial. Un projet captivant ! »

Une aura internationale

Le Brussels Philharmonic a toujours eu sa place sur la scène internationale. Dès ses débuts, il figurait au programme des festivals européens les plus prestigieux et se produisait régulièrement dans les plus grandes capitales mondiales (Paris, Londres, Berlin, Vienne, Salzbourg). Grâce à sa collaboration avec l’agence IMG Touring pour l’organisation de ses concerts à l’étranger, l’orchestre a pu investir de nouvelles scènes d’Europe et d’ailleurs. Après une grande tournée au Japon en 2016-2017, l’orchestre s’envolera pour la côte Est des États-Unis en 2018-2019.

Et le cinéma dans tout ça ?

Le Brussels Philharmonic se distingue sur la scène internationale par une autre de ses spécialités : l’exécution et l’enregistrement de musiques de films, séries et jeux. Par ses origines étroitement liées à la radiodiffusion, l’orchestre entretient un dialogue privilégié avec le cinéma, dialogue qu’il a sciemment continué à approfondir dès qu’il est devenu indépendant en 1998.

Fidèle collaborateur du Film Fest Gent depuis de longues années, l’orchestre a travaillé en studio et sur scène sous la houlette de grands compositeurs du septième art tels Howard Shore, Hans Zimmer, Angelo Badalamenti, Craig Armstrong, Alan Silvestri et bien d’autres. Avec, à la clé, de remarquables récompenses dont un Golden Globe pour « Aviator » (musique de Howard Shore) et un Oscar pour « The Artist » (musique de Ludovic Bource).

Assurer la relève

En 2017, le Brussels Philharmonic a lancé BOENK! Brussels Young Philharmonic, un nouvel orchestre exclusivement composé de jeunes et destiné aux jeunes de 15 à 25 ans. En misant sur des programmes originaux et d’ambitieuses représentations, BOENK! a pour objectif de promouvoir le plaisir de jouer ensemble. BOENK! offre aussi aux jeunes passionnés la chance d’acquérir de l’expérience au sein d’un orchestre tout en bénéficiant d’un encadrement professionnel, assuré par le Brussels Philharmonic.

Le tout nouveau Youth Orchestra Flanders cible quant à lui les futurs musiciens professionnels. Son but : aider les musiciens prometteurs à développer leur talent dans un environnement professionnel en leur permettant de jouer au sein d’un orchestre, sous l’œil attentif et vigilant du Brussels Philharmonic, de l’Antwerp Symphony Orchestra et du Symfonisch Orkest de l’Opera Ballet Vlaanderen.

Le Brussels Philharmonic est, ensemble avec le Vlaams Radio Koor, une institution de la Communauté flamande.