Since 2011, Florian Helgath has been Artistic Director of the ChorWerk Ruhr. Within the past years he presented choir music of various periods on the highest level both in a cappella and with orchestras. Starting 2017/18 he is Artistic Director of the Zürcher Sing-Akademie. Helgath has held the position as conductor of the Danish National Choir from 2009 to 2015 and was Artistic Director of the ViaNova Chor Munich from 2008 to 2016 and has conducted numerous highly acclaimed first performances.

Since 2011, Florian Helgath has been Artistic Director of the ChorWerk Ruhr. Within the past years he presented choir music of various periods on the highest level both in a cappella and with orchestras. Starting 2017/18 he is Artistic Director of the Zürcher Sing-Akademie.

Helgath has held the position as conductor of the Danish National Choir from 2009 to 2015 and was Artistic Director of the ViaNova Chor Munich from 2008 to 2016 and has conducted numerous highly acclaimed first performances.

Helgath is also a regular guest conductor of the SWR Vokalensemble, RIAS Kammerchor, MDR Leipzig Radio Choir, Choir of the Bavarian Radio, Netherlands Radio Choir, Choeur de Radio France, Warsaw Philharmonic Choir amonng others and collaborates with the Munich Radio Orchestra, Bochum, Symphony, Odense Symphony, Danish Chamber Orchestra, Münchner Symphoniker, Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, Concerto Köln and Ensemble Resonanz. Concerts led him to major concert halls and festivals as the Berliner Festspiele, Audi Sommerkonzerte, Eclat Festival Stuttgart, Thüringer Bachwochen and particularly to the Ruhrtriennale with contemporary opera performances and numerous manifold projects.

He also has prepared choirs for conductors as Herbert Blomstedt, Kent Nagano, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos and Christian Thielemann.

Helgath’s discography includes the CD ‘Sacred Songs‘ with works by Bach, Reger and Knut Nystedt with the MDR Leipzig Radio Choir, which was awarded the ICMA Award 2017, works by Palestrina and Wagner also with the MDR Leipzig Radio Choir, ‘Contemporary Choral Music‘ with the Via Nova Chor as well as J.S. Mayr Missa in c – Stabat Mater with the Orpheus Vokalensemble and Concerto Köln among others. For the album ‘Da Pacem‘ with the RIAS Kammerchor and Capella de la Torre, Helgath received the ECHO Klassik 2017.

Florian Helgath’s initial experience started as a chorister in his native city with the Regensburger Domspatzen. He studied choral conducting at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munich and graduated in 2008 with a Masters Degree. Among his most important teachers are Michael Gläser, Stefan Parkman, Dan-Olof Stenlund who influenced him largely in his career as conductor.

As a prizewinner and finalist of the Eric Ericson Award 2006 and Competition for Young Choral Conductors in Budapest 2007, Helgath has already drawn the attentionn of the international choral music scene.

www.florianhelgath.de

Florian Helgath est directeur artistique de ChorWerk Ruhr depuis 2011. Ces dernières années, il a présenté de la musique chorale de différentes périodes au plus haut niveau, à la fois a cappella et avec des orchestres. Depuis 2017-2018, il est directeur artistique de la Zürcher Sing-Akademie. Helgath a été chef d’orchestre du Chœur national danois de 2009 à 2015 et directeur artistique du via-nova-chor München de 2008 à 2016. Il a également dirigé de nombreuses premières exécutions très remarquées.

Florian Helgath est directeur artistique de ChorWerk Ruhr depuis 2011. Ces dernières années, il a présenté de la musique chorale de différentes périodes au plus haut niveau, à la fois a cappella et avec des orchestres. Depuis 2017-2018, il est directeur artistique de la Zürcher Sing-Akademie.

Helgath a été chef d’orchestre du Chœur national danois de 2009 à 2015 et directeur artistique du via-nova-chor München de 2008 à 2016. Il a également dirigé de nombreuses premières exécutions très remarquées.

Helgath est également chef d’orchestre invité régulier du SWR Vokalensemble, du RIAS Kammerchor, du Chœur MDR de la radio de Leipzig, du Chœur de la radio bavaroise, du Chœur de la radio néerlandaise, du Chœur de Radio France et du Chœur philharmonique de Varsovie, entre autres, et collabore avec l’Orchestre de la radio de Munich, l’Orchestre symphonique de Bochum, l’Orchestre symphonique d’Odense, l’Orchestre de chambre national du Danemark, l’Orchestre symphonique de Munich, l’Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, le Concerto Köln et l’Ensemble Resonanz. Il s’est produit dans de grands festivals et salles de concert comme le Berliner Festspiele, l’Audi Sommerkonzerte, l’Eclat Festival de Stuttgart, les Thüringer Bachwochen et, en particulier, la Ruhrtriennale, pour des opéras contemporains et de nombreux projets divers.

Il a aussi préparé des chœurs pour des chefs d’orchestre comme Herbert Blomstedt, Kent Nagano, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos et Christian Thielemann.

Sa discographie comprend le CD « Sacred Songs », qui reprend des œuvres de Bach, Reger et Knut Nystedt avec le Chœur MDR de la radio de Leipzig, récompensé par l’ICMA Award 2017, des œuvres de Palestrina et Wagner, également avec le Chœur MDR de la radio de Leipzig, « Contemporary Choral Music », avec le via-nova-chor, et « Missa in c – Stabat Mater » de J.S. Mayr, avec l’Orpheus Vokalensemble et Concerto Köln, entre autres. Il a reçu l’ECHO Klassik 2017 pour l’album « Da Pacem » avec le RIAS Kammerchor et Capella de la Torre.

Florian Helgath a débuté comme choriste dans sa ville natale avec le Regensburger Domspatzen. Il a étudié la direction de chœur à la Hochschule für Musik und Theater de Munich et obtenu son diplôme de master en 2008. Michael Gläser, Stefan Parkman et Dan-Olof Stenlund sont ses professeurs les plus marquants et ont été une grande source d’inspiration pour lui dans sa carrière de chef d’orchestre.

Artiste récompensé et finaliste de l’Eric Ericson Award 2006 et du Concours international de jeunes chefs d’orchestre de Budapest en 2007, Florian Helgath a déjà attiré l’attention sur la scène musicale chorale internationale.

www.florianhelgath.de