Since being a laureate in the Brussels Queen Elisabeth Competition 1991, Jan Michiels has been known for his very personal and multi-layered approach to the piano repertoire, combining old and new in always changing perspectives.

Jan Michiels regularly performs in prestigious venues all over Europe and Asia. Apart from the ‘ritual recitals’ mentioned below he realized several complete cycles such as all Beethoven Sonatas, all works from the 2nd Viennese School, all Debussy, all Bartok, all Brahms (piano solo and chamber music with piano). As a chamber musician he worked with numerous soloists and ensembles - with Inge Spinette he forms the piano duo YingYang. He worked with conductors such as Angus, Asbury, Baudo, Blunier, Boreycko, Edwards, Eötvös and Herreweghe with orchestras such as a.o. Brussels Philharmonic, Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre National de Belgique, WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln, Berliner Symphoniker, Orchestre Symphonique de la Monnaie, and Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte Carlo. Besides, he has been an active collaborator with choreographers such as Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Sen Hea Ha and Vincent Dunoyer.

Since being a laureate in the Brussels Queen Elisabeth Competition 1991 Jan Michiels has been known for his very personal and multi-layered approach to the piano repertoire, combining old and new in always changing perspectives. Numerous recordings testify his activity – to quote but a few, ‘Lost in Venice with Prometheus’, ‘The War of the Romantics’ or ‘Slavic Soul’ (all published by Fuga Libera) contain music from Bach till today seen from the position of a performer composing his programs through a continuous dialogue with living music history. Jan Michiels worked indeed closely with composers such as a.o. Kurtág, Holliger, Lachenmann, Goeyvaerts, Huber, Groslot and Defoort. One of his main inspiration sources is Luigi Nono, who stood at the centre of his doctorate in the Arts ‘Teatro dell’Ascolto’ (2011).

He studied with Abel Matthys (Brussels) and Hans Leygraf (Berlin). As a pedagogue himself he conducted numerous masterclasses in a.o. Hamburg, Murcia, Szombathely, London, Strasbourg, Montepulciano and Lisbon. He is currently Professor Piano at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels.


concerts with Jan Michiels

Depuis son prix de lauréat du Concours Reine Elisabeth 1991, Jan Michiels s’est fait une renommée pour son approche très personnelle et diversifiée du répertoire pour piano, en combinant l’ancien et le nouveau en perspectives toujours changeantes.

Jan Michiels se produit régulièrement dans des salles de concert prestigieuses en Europe et en Asie. En dehors de ces ‘récitals rituels’ il a déjà réalisé différents cycles complets : les Sonates de Beethoven, toutes les œuvres de la 2ème École Viennoise, tout Debussy, Bartók et Brahms (de ce dernier en plus toute la musique de chambre avec piano). Comme chambriste il a travaillé avec beaucoup de solistes et d’ensembles – avec Inge Spinette il forme le duo de piano YinYang. Il a travaillé avec des chefs d’orchestre comme Angus, Asbury, Baudo, Blunier, Boreycko, Edwards, Eötvös et Herreweghe, avec des orchestres comme e.a. Brussels Philharmonic, Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre National de Belgique, WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln, Berliner Symphoniker, Orchestre Symphonique de la Monnaie, et Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte Carlo. Il était aussi collaborateur dans des projets avec des chorégraphes comme Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Sen Hea Ha et Vincent Dunoyer.

Depuis son prix de lauréat du Concours Reine Elisabeth 1991, Jan Michiels s’est fait une renommée pour son approche très personnelle et diversifiée du répertoire pour piano, en combinant l’ancien et le nouveau en perspectives toujours changeantes. Plusieurs enregistrements en témoignent – à noter quelques-uns : ‘Lost in Venice with Prometheus’, ‘The War of the Romantics’ ou ‘Slavic Soul’ (tous publiés par Fuga Libera) contiennent des pages de Bach jusqu’à nos jours, rassemblées d’un point de vue d’un interprète qui compose ses programmes à partir d’un dialogue continu avec l’histoire de la musique vivante. Jan Michiels a en effet travaillé intensément avec des compositeurs comme e.a. Kurtág, Holliger, Lachenmann, Goeyvaerts, Huber, Groslot et Defoort. Dans ces sources d’inspiration il faut certainement noter Luigi Nono, qui fût au centre de son doctorat dans les arts ‘Teatro dell’Ascolto’ (2011).

Il a étudié avec Abel Matthys (Bruxelles) et Hans Leygraf (Berlin). Comme pédagogue lui-même il a conduit des masterclasses à e.a. Hambourg, Montepulciano, Szombathely, Londres, Strasbourg, Murcia et Lisbonne. Couramment il est professeur de piano au Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel.

des concerts avec Jan Michiels