Described by Gramophone as “the most trailblazing and meteoric performer of all” Nikolai Lugansky is a pianist of extraordinary depth and versatility.

Nikolai Lugansky is a pianist who combines elegance and grace with powerful virtuosity, a true incarnation of the Russian tradition on the international classical stage. Recognised as a master of Russian and late romantic repertoire, Lugansky is renowned for his interpretations of Rachmaninov, Prokofiev, Chopin and Debussy. He has received numerous awards for recordings and artistic merit.

He regularly works with top level conductors such as Yuri Temirkanov, Kent Nagano, Mikhail Pletnev, Gianandrea Noseda and Vladimir Jurowski. Recent concerto highlights include performances with Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg, BBC Symphony Orchestra in London, Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra, and Russian National Orchestra at Philharmonie de Paris, the Cleveland Orchestra and NHK in Tokyo. Lugansky also tours Europe with Malmö Symfoniorkester and Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal.

Described by Gramophone as “the most trailblazing and meteoric performer of all” Nikolai Lugansky is a pianist of extraordinary depth and versatility. As a regular recitalist the world over, he performs in Paris, Prague, Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Vienna Konzerthaus and Wigmore Hall in London. Lugansky appears at some of the world's most distinguished festivals, including the Aspen, Tanglewood Ravinia and Verbier festivals. Chamber music collaborators include Vadim Repin, Alexander Kniazev, Mischa Maisky and Leonidas Kavakos. Lugansky regularly performs at the La Roque-d'Anthéron Festival in France, with the last season marking the 23rd consecutive year of appearance.

Nikolai Lugansky has won several awards for his many recordings. His recital CD featuring Rachmaninov's Piano Sonatas won the Diapason d’Or, whilst his recording of concertos by Grieg and Prokofiev with Kent Nagano and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin was a Gramophone Editor’s Choice. Lugansky has an exclusive contract with harmonia mundi and his Rachmaninov’s 24 Preludes, released in April 2018, met with enthusiastic reviews. He was described as having “an ability to enchant the ear… with a deep feeling for the music” (The Financial Times). His recording of solo piano music by Debussy was released in the 2018 anniversary year and his most recent release ‘César Franck, Préludes, Fugues & Chorals’ (March 2020) won the Diapason d’Or.

In addition to performing, Lugansky has been a professor at the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory since 1998. He is also the Artistic Director of the Tambov Rachmaninov Festival and is a supporter of, and regular performer at, the Rachmaninov Estate and Museum of Ivanovka.

In June 2019 Nikolai Lugansky received the Russian Federation National Award in Literature and Art, for his contribution to the development and advancement of Russian and international classical music culture over the past 20 years. Lugansky was awarded the honour of People’s Artist of Russia in April 2013, which is the highest honorary title for outstanding achievement in the arts.


concerts with Nikolai Lugansky

Décrit par Gramophone comme « l'interprète le plus novateur et le plus brillant de tous », Nikolai Lugansky est un pianiste d'une profondeur et d'une polyvalence extraordinaires.

Nikolai Lugansky est un pianiste qui allie grâce et élégance à la virtuosité, véritable incarnation de la tradition russe sur la scène classique internationale. Reconnu comme un maître du répertoire russe et du dernier romantisme, Nikolai Lugansky est réputé pour ses interprétations de Rachmaninov, Prokofiev, Chopin et Debussy. Il a reçu de nombreux prix pour ses enregistrements et représentations.

Il travaille régulièrement avec des chefs d’orchestre internationaux tels que Yuri Temirkanov, Kent Nagano, Mikhail Pletnev, Gianandrea Noseda et Vladimir Jurowski. Parmi les points forts récents, citons des performances avec le Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg, l’Orchestre symphonique de la BBC à Londres, l’Orchestre national de Russie à la Philharmonie de Paris, l’Orchestre de Cleveland, l’Orchestre symphonique de la NHK à Tokyo, et l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal.

Nikolai Lugansky se produit en récital dans le monde entier : Paris, Prague, Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Vienna Konzerthaus et Wigmore Hall London. Décrit par Gramophone comme « l’artiste le plus novateur et le plus fulgurant de tous », Nikolai Lugansky est un pianiste d’une profondeur et d’une polyvalence extraordinaires. Il apparaît régulièrement les festivals les plus prestigieux du monde, notamment ceux d’Aspen, Tanglewood Ravinia et Verbier. Il collabore en musique de chambre avec Vadim Repin, Alexander Kniazev, Mischa Maisky et Leonidas Kavakos. Il se produit régulièrement au Festival de La Roque-d’Anthéron en France, la saison dernière marquant d’ailleurs sa 23e venue consécutive.

Nikolai Lugansky a remporté plusieurs prix pour ses nombreux enregistrements. Son CD des sonates pour piano de Rachmaninov a remporté le Diapason d’Or, tandis que son enregistrement de Concertos de Grieg et de Prokofiev avec Kent Nagano et le Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin a été choisi par Gramophone Editor’s Choice. Nikolai Lugansky a un contrat exclusif avec Harmonia Mundi et son récent disque des 24 Préludes de Rachmaninov, sorti en avril 2018, a rencontré des critiques enthousiastes. Il a été décrit comme ayant « une capacité à enchanter l’oreille… avec un profond sentiment pour la musique » (The Financial Times). Son enregistrement de musique pour piano solo par Debussy est sorti lors l’année anniversaire du compositeur en 2018. Son enregistrement de Préludes, Fugues & Chorals de César Franck (mars 2020) a été distingué par un Diapason d'or.

En plus de jouer, Nikolai Lugansky est professeur au Conservatoire d’État Tchaïkovski de Moscou depuis 1998. Il est également directeur artistique du festival Tambov Rachmaninov mais aussi engagé et artiste régulier du domaine Rachmaninov et du musée d’Ivanovka.

En juin 2019, Nikolai Lugansky a reçu le Prix national de la Fédération de Russie en littérature et en art pour sa contribution au développement et à l’avancement de la culture de la musique classique russe et internationale au cours des 20 dernières années. Nikolai Lugansky a reçu en avril 2013, le titre honorifique le plus élevé de Russie, celui de l’honneur de l’artiste populaire pour ses réalisations artistiques exceptionnelles.

des concerts avec Nikolai Lugansky