Brussels Philharmonic | Mozart & Haydn

Mozart & Haydn

programme notes

written by Jasper Croonen
10.12.2022 MOZART & HAYDN

see more: all programme notes

Mozart & Haydn mean returning to the source of the symphony; Not to its absolute origins, but to the first flagbearers of the genre. Prolific composers who, with their dedication and innovative ideas, turned the symphony into one of the most important genres in classical music.

At the same time, this programme is also one that features a confusion of names and of historical inaccuracy. A centuries-long quest for the mysterious, eponymous ‘jeunehomme’ of Mozart’s Ninth Piano Concerto that was resolved only in 2004, and an unsolved question about the miraculous events during the première of Haydn’s Symphony No. 96… or should we say Symphony No. 102?

‘And so I was forced to be original’

Our traditional image of Joseph Haydn is of a pious, good-humoured man, concerned with others. The man known as ‘Papa Haydn.’ But when, in 1791, he arrived in London, the composer was first and foremost a worldly citizen of the world. The Enlightenment ideal of an honnête homme, who with his cheerful righteousness, fluency and creative genius had gained entry into the highest social circles.

His first works in the British capital, which at the time was the most bustling metropolis in the world, are hectic and full of pleasantries. His 30-year career among the Austrian aristocracy, as the Kapellmeister (musical director) of the Esterházy court, had spread Haydn’s music throughout Europe. During his lifetime, he was the most popular composer of his day. In London, he was nothing less than a superstar. The newspapers announced his arrival day in, day out; everyone wanted to take him out for a meal. Haydn had to restrain himself to avoid being constantly on the go. ‘Everyone wants to get to know me… but I have to think of my health and my work. I receive visitors only after 2 pm,’ he wrote in a letter.

At the urging of the musician and impresario Johann Peter Salomon, Haydn left the Hungarian court after the death of Prince Nikolaus in 1790. The composer had promised Salomon he would write new works for the 1791 musical season: six symphonies, an opera and twenty undefined smaller compositions. A few years later, he would write a second cycle of six symphonies.

With these twelve works, Haydn definitively broke out of the traditional symphonic framework, although one can hardly speak of a radical break. What Haydn often did is to gradually deepen the genre. Calling his own past into question and then always going one step further. His Symphony No. 96, for example, looks over its shoulder to the Paris cycle that he had composed a few years earlier (1785-1786). At that time, Haydn’s opening and final movements were quite long. In the first London cycle, he continued to embroider on this innovation, but within the expanded form, he used many more original themes, dynamic extremes and stylistic quirks.

The second cycle, to which his Symphony No. 102 also belongs, is the apex of Haydn’s symphonic compositions. After the formal innovations of the Paris symphonies and the thematic novelties, in 1775 he set off in search of new tonal atmospheres. He added extra instruments to the orchestra, and used more daring modulations than ever before. A typical feature of these is the way Haydn manipulated the traditional form in order to incorporate the new instruments. For example, he repeats the opening of the adagio movement of the 102nd Symphony, handing the melodious theme in the strings over to the brass.

Haydn’s London symphonies are highly experimental and attest to a desire to expand the boundaries that is typical of this composer. ‘And so, I was forced to be original,’ Haydn said later in life to his biographer when describing his evolution as a computer. Nowhere is that principle more clearly expressed than in his London cycles. The audience was also enormously enthusiastic about this new music. They were ‘such as were never heard before, of any mortal’s production’, the critics raved.

The symphonies were so successful that they even gave rise to a drama. At one of the concerts, a chandelier fell from the ceiling. Miraculously, no one was hurt because the audience was rushing en masse to the front to congratulate Haydn on his composition. It was long thought that this incident occurred at the première of his Symphony No. 96, but in fact it turns out that it was more likely at the première of his Symphony No. 102. While we await a decisive historical proof, you get two miracles for the price of one.

‘Jeunehomme’ or young woman?

Hardly a few years after Haydn’s London successes, Mozart wrote his Ninth Piano Concerto (1777). As innovative as Haydn’s symphonies had been, so forward-looking was Mozart’s symphonic writing in the concerto.

By contrast with Haydn, who evolved more gradually, it is perfectly justified in Mozart’s case to consider his Ninth as a turning point. Extra-musical factors certainly played a role here: in his early ‘20s, Mozart had just broken with his patrons at the Salzburg court; only a few months later, he would lose his mother while they were both in Paris.

Nevertheless, it is significant that in Mozart’s Ninth Piano Concerto, we see the first signs of a new style of composition. The work is on a notably grander scale – the Ninth is almost ten minutes longer than the Eighth Piano Concerto. In the Andantino movement, Mozart plays with the customary theories of the emotions, which determine how a composer is meant to use music to awaken the emotions. He uses virtuoso piano runs and makes surprising choices in the parts. The soloist’s very early entry, in the third bar, is completely normal nowadays (you see that, for example, in Rachmaninov’s Third Piano Concerto as well), at the time, it was unheard of.


Moreover, inspired by his earlier tours, Mozart incorporated ever more ‘local colour’ into his works. These are mostly very subtle allusions to the fashions of the day, intended to please the local audiences. Mozart’s sister, Nannerl, said about a later work (his Seventh Piano Sonata) that ‘everyone could tell that it was written in Mannheim.’ His father expressed his view of that work a bit more prudently, as ‘in the Mannheim style, but not to such an extent that your own talent is spoiled.’ In the Ninth Piano Concerto, Mozart draws his ideas from Provence, in France, and uses a vigorous rigaudon folk dance as the theme of his final movement.

All these innovations meant that the work was generally very highly regarded. As evidence in that regard is the fact that Mozart would perform the work himself several times in later years. That was not at all customary at the time. Critics and performers also esteemed the work highly. The musicologist Alfred Einstein called it ‘Mozart’s Eroica,’ and the pianist Alfred Brendel called the work ‘one of the greatest wonders of the world.’

One mystery remained about the work for centuries: who is this mysterious ‘Jeunehomme’ to whom the work is dedicated? in 2004, the musicologist Michael Lorenz finally discovered the truth. He learned that the name was nothing more than a 20th-century crowd pleaser. A deliberate corruption of the name, since the original read: Jenamy. That name conceals not the expected ‘young man’, but the pianist Louise Victoire Jenamy. The daughter of a famous choreographer is the one to whom Mozart dedicated his work. But even with that puzzle finally solved, the nickname ‘Jeunehomme’ is still often associated with the work. After all these years, still an excellent marketing stunt!

Brussels Philharmonic | mozart, haydn

Mozart & Haydn

notes de programme

explications : Jasper Croonen
10.12.2022 MOZART & HAYDN

Écouter Mozart et Haydn, c'est comme revenir à la source de la symphonie. Non pas aux premiers germes, mais aux premiers représentants, des auteurs dont le dévouement et les idées novatrices ont fait de ce genre l'un des courants les plus importants de la musique classique.

Ce programme est également celui de la confusion des noms et de l'ambiguïté historique, avec le mystérieux « Jeunehomme » du Neuvième Concerto pour piano de Mozart qui de tout temps a fait l’objet de recherches mais n'a trouvé son explication qu'en 2004, et un questionnement sur les miraculeux événements survenus lors de la création de la Symphonie no 96 de Haydn... ou s'agissait-il finalement de la Symphonie no 102 ?

« J’ai donc dû devenir original »

L'image traditionnelle de Joseph Haydn est celle d'un homme pieux, de bonne humeur, engagé envers les autres : c’est « Papa Haydn ». Mais à son arrivée à Londres en 1791, le compositeur était avant tout un mondain citoyen du monde. L'idéal des Lumières de l’honnête homme qui accède aux plus hautes sphères par sa joyeuse sincérité, son aisance et son génie créatif s’était imposé.

Ses premières semaines dans la capitale britannique, à l'époque la métropole la plus animée du monde, furent mouvementées et pleines de rebondissements. Trente ans de carrière auprès de la noblesse autrichienne, en tant que maître de chapelle à la cour d'Esterházy, avaient permis à la musique de Haydn d’être diffusée dans toute l'Europe. Il était déjà de son vivant le compositeur le plus populaire de son époque. À Londres, il fut reçu en superstar. Les journaux rapportèrent son arrivée pendant des jours, tout le monde voulait dîner avec lui. Haydn dut s’empêcher de sortir tout le temps. « Tout le monde veut me connaître [...], mais je dois penser à ma santé et à mon travail. Je ne reçois des visiteurs qu'à partir de 14 heures », écrivit-il dans une lettre.

À l'instigation du promoteur de concerts Johann Peter Salomon, Haydn avait quitté la cour hongroise après la mort du prince Nikolaus en 1790. Le compositeur avait convenu avec Salomon de fournir de nouvelles œuvres pour la saison 1791 : six symphonies, un opéra et vingt petites pièces non définies. Un deuxième cycle de six symphonies suivrait quelques années plus tard.

Avec ces douze symphonies, Haydn tire résolument le genre hors de son cadre traditionnel, même s'il est difficile de parler de rupture radicale. Comme à son habitude, le compositeur approfondit progressivement son sujet : à chaque fois, il remet son passé en question et va un peu plus loin. La Symphonie no 96, par exemple, jette encore un regard au cycle parisien composé quelques années auparavant (1785-1786). À cette époque, Haydn avait considérablement allongé les mouvements d'ouverture et de fin. Dans le premier cycle londonien, il s'appuie sur cette innovation, mais utilise des thèmes beaucoup plus originaux, des dynamiques extrêmes et des subtilités stylistiques.

Le deuxième cycle, qui comprend la Symphonie no 102, est à l'apogée de la maîtrise symphonique de Haydn. Après les innovations formelles et les nouveautés thématiques de Paris, il partit en 1775 en quête de nouvelles atmosphères sonores. Il ajouta des instruments à l'orchestre, modulant plus audacieusement encore qu’auparavant. La façon dont Haydn manipule la forme traditionnelle pour incorporer ces nouveaux instruments est très caractéristique. Ainsi, il répète l'ouverture de l'Adagio de la Symphonie no 102 afin de faire passer le thème mélodique des cordes aux cuivres.

Les symphonies londoniennes de Haydn sont très expérimentales et témoignent de sa volonté de repousser les limites. « Und so musste ich original werden » (« J’ai donc dû devenir original »), déclarerait plus le compositeur à son biographe à propos de son évolution. Nulle part cette affirmation n'est plus clairement incarnée que dans les cycles londoniens. Le public se montra particulièrement enthousiaste à leur égard. « Nous n'avons jamais rien entendu de tel, aucun mortel n'a jamais rien produit de tel », lit-on dans la presse.


Les symphonies connurent un tel succès qu'elles réussirent même à déjouer une tragédie. En effet, lors d'un concert, un lustre tomba du plafond. Par miracle, personne ne fut blessé, car le public s'était précipité en masse pour féliciter Haydn. Longtemps, cet événement fut considéré comme ayant eu lieu au moment de la création de la Symphonie no 96, mais il semble aujourd'hui plus probable que ce fut lors de la création de la Symphonie no 102. Dans l'attente de preuves historiques, on a deux miracles.

« Jeunehomme », ou jeune femme ?

Mozart composa son Neuvième Concerto pour piano (1777) quelques années après les succès londoniens de Haydn. L'écriture symphonique du compositeur dans ce concerto est aussi progressiste que celle de ses symphonies.

Contrairement à l’écriture de Haydn, dont l’évolution fut plus progressive, celle de Mozart présente un point de rupture dans ce Neuvième Concerto, sans doute en raison d’événements personnels : à vingt ans, le jeune homme venait de rompre avec ses protecteurs à la cour de Salzbourg ; quelques mois plus tard, il perdrait sa mère à Paris.

Ce concerto présente les prémices d'un nouveau style. L'œuvre est d'une ampleur remarquable : elle dure près de dix minutes de plus que le Huitième Concerto. Dans l’Andantino, Mozart se joue de la théorie des affects, qui définit comment un compositeur doit susciter des sentiments par sa musique. La partie de piano, surprenante, présente de nombreux traits virtuoses. Si l'entrée très précoce du soliste, dès la troisième mesure, est parfaitement habituelle aujourd'hui (on l’observe notamment dans le Troisième Concerto pour piano de Rachmaninov), elle était tout à fait exceptionnelle à l'époque.


Inspiré par ses tournées, Mozart intégra de plus en plus souvent une couleur locale dans ses œuvres, généralement des références très subtiles aux modes de l'époque afin de plaire au public local. Nannerl, sa sœur, déclarera à propos d'une œuvre ultérieure, sa Septième Sonate pour piano, que « tout le monde pouvait voir qu'elle avait été écrite à Mannheim ». Son père exprima son opinion sur la même pièce de manière plus prudente : « dans le style de Mannheim, mais pas au point de gâcher ton talent ». Pour le Neuvième Concerto pour piano, Mozart puise ses idées à la Provence française, utilisant un rigaudon endiablé comme thème du dernier mouvement.

Toutes ces innovations font que l'œuvre fut généralement très appréciée. Mozart lui-même la jouerait à plusieurs reprises plus tard dans sa vie, ce qui était loin d'être la norme à l'époque. Les critiques et les interprètes furent également très élogieux. Le musicologue Alfred Einstein en fit l’« Eroica de Mozart », le pianiste Alfred Brendel la décrivit comme « l'une des plus grandes merveilles du monde ».

Pendant des siècles, un mystère resta attaché à l'œuvre : qui était donc ce mystérieux « Jeunehomme », dédicataire de l'œuvre ? Ce n'est qu'en 2004 que le musicologue Michael Lorenz découvrit la vérité : l'appellation datait du XXe siècle et était une simplification délibérée du nom que l’on trouvait dans les sources : « Jenamy ». Derrière ce nom ne se cache pas le jeune homme attendu, mais la pianiste Louise Victoire Jenamy, la fille d'un chorégraphe renommé à qui Mozart dédia son œuvre. Pourtant, le surnom de « Jeunehomme » y reste souvent attaché…