A panorama of four 20th century ‘minimalist’ masterpieces, chosen for their introspective quality. Assembled around Steve Reich’s undisputed masterpiece, Tehillim, this concert is more than the sum of its parts: the chosen works and their dialogue bring to life a “theatre in music”, a palette of sensitive ideas that mirror our most pressing concerns.


In The Unanswered Question by the American composer Charles Ives, three instrument groups sketch out a cosmic landscape. While the strings express the eternal silence of infinite space, a trumpet searches for the meaning of life. A number of woodwind instruments try to formulate an answer, but end up simply mocking the question.

Proverb and Tehillim are two compositions by the minimalist composer Steve Reich in which the written word plays a particularly essential role. While his lifelong fascination with the Austrian philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein comes to the fore in Proverb, in Tehillim - a work in four movements - Reich examines his Jewish roots with the aid of a number of excerpts from the Psalms.

The English composer Gavin Bryars based his composition The Sinking of the Titanic on the story of the musicians who were aboard the RMS Titanic, and continued playing while the ship sank. Gavin Bryars has the string section endlessly repeat the hymn the musicians were said to have played. This melody is increasingly submerged over time beneath Morse code signals, disorientating sound effects and even interviews with survivors. The effect is that of the band members slowly sinking into the depths of the ocean.

programme

Charles Ives
The Unanswered Question (1908)

Steve Reich
Proverb (1995)

Gavin Bryars
The Sinking of the Titanic (1972)

Steve Reich
Tehillim (1981)

ℹ️ CONCERT WITHOUT INTERMISSION (70')

with
Lore Binon / Kaoli Isshiki / Morgane Heyse, soprano
Els Mondelaers, mezzo-soprano
Kevin Skelton / Hitoshi Tamada, tenor
Alexandre Fostier, sound engineer

discover more

tehillim

Warm up for the concert and discover Tehillim in this live performance by Ictus.

listen to tehillim live

Reich + Bach

Steve Reich offers an in-depth explanation of the influences of Bach on Tehillim.

watch the video

Gavin Bryars

Listen to Gavin Bryar’s original version on Brian Eno’s ‘Obscure Records’ label, 1975.

listen

practical

🎟️🎫 €37 > €11,5

Venue: Concertgebouw Brugge

Location: ’t Zand 34 | 8000 Bruges
Phone: +32 70 22 12 12
Online: www.concertgebouw.be

safety measures Concertgebouw Brugge

buy tickets

you might also like

Ce concert brosse un panorama de quatre chefs-d’œuvre du XXe siècle, d’orientation « minimaliste », choisis pour leur qualité introspective. Composé autour du chef-d’œuvre incontesté de Steve Reich, Tehillim, ce concert est davantage que la somme de ses parties.


Dans The Unanswered Question du compositeur américain Charles Ives, trois groupes d’instruments esquissent un paysage cosmique. Tandis que les cordes évoquent le silence éternel de l’espace infini, une trompette s’interroge sur le sens de la vie. Quelques vents tentent de formuler une réponse, mais parviennent juste à ridiculiser la question.

Proverb et Tehillim sont deux pièces du compositeur minimaliste Steve Reich, dans lesquelles le texte joue un rôle particulièrement important. Si Proverb illustre sa fascination de toute une vie pour le philosophe autrichien Ludwig Wittgenstein, Steve Reich explore dans la pièce en quatre mouvements Tehillim ses racines juives à partir de quelques fragments de psaumes.

Pour The Sinking of the Titanic, le compositeur anglais Gavin Bryars s’est basé sur le récit selon lequel les musiciens censés divertir les passagers du RMS Titanic ont continué à jouer pendant le naufrage du navire. Gavin Bryars fait répéter à l’infini par les cordes l’hymne qui aurait été joué par les musiciens. Il noie progressivement la mélodie dans des signaux morses, d’étranges effets sonores et même des interviews de survivants. Il donne ainsi l’impression que les musiciens s’enfoncent de plus en plus loin dans les profondeurs de l’océan

programme

Charles Ives
The Unanswered Question (1908)

Steve Reich
Proverb (1995)

Gavin Bryars
The Sinking of the Titanic (1972)

Steve Reich
Tehillim (1981)

ℹ️ CONCERT SANS ENTRACTE (70')

avec
Lore Binon / Kaoli Isshiki / Morgane Heyse, soprano
Els Mondelaers, mezzo-soprano
Kevin Skelton / Hitoshi Tamada, ténor
Alexandre Fostier, sound engineer

découvrir plus

tehillim

Le chef-d’œuvre de Steve Reich, interprété en direct par Ictus.

écouter sur soundlcoud

Reich + Bach

Steve Reich propose une explication approfondie des influences de Bach sur Tehillim.

regarder la vidéo

Gavin Bryars

Ecouter sur Youtube : la version originale de Gavin Bryars sur le label ‘Obscure Records’ de Brian Eno, 1975.

écoutez

en pratique

🎟️🎫 €37 > €11,5

Salle : Concertgebouw Brugge

Lieu : ’t Zand 34 | 8000 Bruges
Téléphone : +32 70 22 12 12
En ligne : www.concertgebouw.be

mesures de sécurité Concertgebouw Brugge

réserver

mais aussi