This concert took place in the concert hall without a live audience: you can (re)watch the livestream until 12 March.

🎟️🎫 Tickets (€5) available.

------

A monument of heavenly grandeur, ‘Ein Ungeheuer’ (a monster), full of celestial dimensions, too long and too difficult, obsessive, splendid...A sampling of reactions to Schubert’s 9th Symphony, ‘the Great’, are spot on: this monumental work leaves no one untouched.

------

livestream in collaboration with Evil Penguin TV
with the support of Belga Films Fund and the Belgian Tax Shelter


All must recognize that it reveals to us something more than beautiful song, mere joy and sorrow, such as music has always expressed in a hundred ways; it leads us into regions which - to our best recollection - we had never before explored.” Robert Schumann on Schubert's 9th Symphony

In May 1824, Beethoven’s revolutionary 9th Symphony had its première. The young Franz Schubert was present, and was enormously impressed. It was impossible not to be inspired or influenced by the approach, the scale and the impact of that work – and Schubert began writing what would become his own 9th Symphony. He died in November 1828, a few months after making his final revisions, without ever having heard it performed.

Fortunately, some ten years later Robert Schumann found the 130-page thick manuscript and immediately realized that he was holding a masterpiece in his hands. Mendelssohn conducted the premiere, and although it took some time for the symphony to win over the hearts of the audiences, Schumann believed in its potential: "This work demonstrates the composer’s mastery, and in time its connection will all become clear."

He was right. Today, Schubert’s musical legacy is universally recognized: one continuous work of energy whose length and structure creates a perfect canvas for listeners to lose themselves in a torrent of lyricism.

programme

Franz Schubert
Sinfonie Nr. 9 (8) C-Dur D 944 "Die Große"

discover more

BBC podcast

The Spirit Of Schubert: BBC Radio 3 tells you everything you need to know about Franz Schubert. These free downloads will cover every aspect of the life of one of the greatest ever composers.

listen to podcast

programme booklet

Want to learn more about this concert's programme? Download the programme notes and booklet.

download programme booklet

more

Want to know more about Schubert's life's work? This article will broaden your understanding of the man and his compositions in a compelling way.

read here

musicians

The Brussels Philharmonic musicians on stage for tonight's concert.

download list of musicians

practical

This concert will take place in the concert hall, even without a live audience: you can watch the concert via the livestream.

🎟️🎫 Buy your tickets (€5) here!
Livestream available until 12 March.

Ce concert a eu lieu le 5 mars sans public dans la salle : le livestream est disponible en replay jusqu'au 12 mars.

🎟️🎫 Achetez vos tickets (€5) ici !

------

Un monument de grandeur céleste, ein Ungeheuer (un monstre), plein de dimensions célestes, trop long et trop difficile, obsessionnel, magnifique… Cette sélection de réactions à la 9e Symphonie de Schubert, « la Grande », ne ment pas : cette œuvre monumentale ne laisse personne indifférent.

------

stream en direct en collaboration avec Evil Penguin TV
avec le soutien de Belga Films Fund et du Tax Shelter belge


« Tous ne peuvent que reconnaître qu’elle nous révèle bien plus qu’un beau chant, une joie et une tristesse simple, comme la musique l’a toujours exprimé de centaines de façons ; elle nous conduit dans des régions que, aussi loin que nous cherchions dans nos mémoires, nous n’avions jamais explorées auparavant. » – Robert Schumann, à propos de la 9e Symphonie de Schubert

En mai 1824, la révolutionnaire 9e Symphonie de Beethoven fut présentée pour la première fois au public. Le jeune Franz Schubert était présent, et fut très impressionné. Il était impossible de ne pas se sentir inspiré ou influencé par la méthode, l’ampleur, l’impact de cette composition – et Schubert s’attela à l’écriture de ce qui allait devenir sa propre 9e. Il mourut en novembre 1828, quelques mois après les dernières révisions, sans jamais avoir pu entendre son œuvre.

Heureusement, dix ans plus tard, Robert Schumann retrouva les 130 pages du manuscrit et reconnut immédiatement le chef-d’œuvre qu’elles recelaient. Mendelssohn dirigea la première, et même si l’œuvre peina au début à se faire une place dans le cœur du public, Schumann croyait en son potentiel : « Cette œuvre montre la maîtrise du compositeur, et le temps révélera toute sa profondeur. »

Il avait raison. Aujourd’hui, l’héritage musical de Schubert parle pour lui-même : une source d’énergie inépuisable, à la longueur parfaite pour laisser tout le loisir à ceux qui l’écoutent de se perdre dans son lyrisme bouleversant.

programme

Franz Schubert
Sinfonie Nr. 9 (8) C-Dur D 944 "Die Große"

découvrir plus

livret de concert

L'explication comme vous le souhaitez : à imprimer chez vous ou dans une version à lire en ligne.

télécharger le livret de concert

en savoir plus

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur l'œuvre et le travail de Schubert ? Cet article élargit de façon intéressante vos connaissances sur l'homme et ses compositions. (en anglais uniquement)

lisez ici

musiciens

Tous les musiciens du Brussels Philharmonic sur scène ce soir.

téléchargez la liste des musiciens

en pratique

Ce concert aura lieu, même sans public dans la salle : vous pouvez le suivre en livestream.

🎟️🎫 Achetez vos tickets (€5) ici !
Livestream diponsible jusqu'au 12 mars.

lire aussi