Youth Orchestra Flanders is a new youth symphonic orchestra launched in partnership with the Brussels Philharmonic, the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra and the Symphony Orchestra of Opera Ballet Vlaanderen, three top cultural institutions.

Russian fireworks! After Stalin's death, Shostakovich finally dared to let loose his pent-up feelings. His Tenth Symphony is simply bursting with emotion and humanity. In his First Violin Concerto, Prokofiev is not averse to adding a surprising twist. Sometimes, the violin sings lyrically, then it is thrashed, and then it a floats away with fairy‑tale naïveté. In Wim Henderickx’s exciting overture Pulses of the Earth, the promising young lions of the Youth Orchestra Flanders find an exciting contemporary counterbalance.


With support from the government of Flanders, Youth Orchestra Flanders is lending a jump start in the professional orchestra circuit to the upcoming generation of young talent (15-26 years). The orchestra works in a project-based manner and in collaboration with the Flemish conservatories and concert halls. Youth Orchestra Flanders premieres in February 2019 on the stage at Flagey and in the Concertgebouw in Bruges.

programme

Wim Henderickx • Ouverture Pulses of the Earth
Sergey Prokofiev • Violin Concerto No.1, opus 19
Dmitry Shostakovich • Symphony No.10 in e, opus 93

practical

buy tickets

read also

introduction

Le Youth Orchestra Flanders est un nouvel orchestre symphonique de jeunes talents, né d’un partenariat entre les trois institutions culturelles de renom que sont le Brussels Philharmonic, l’Antwerp Symphony Orchestra et l’ Orchestre Symphonique Opera Ballet Vlaanderen.

Un feu d’artifice russe pour la première ! Après la mort de Staline, Chostakovitch ose enfin laisser libre cours à tous les sentiments qu’il avait réprimés. Sa Dixième symphonie est une explosion d’émotions et d’humanité. Dans son Premier concerto pour violon, Prokofiev n’hésite pas, lui non plus, à enchaîner les rebondissements surprenants. Le violon chante de façon lyrique, puis est sauvagement malmené, pour ensuite s’évanouir comme dans un rêve. Les jeunes talents prometteurs du Youth Orchestra Flanders trouvent dans la passionnante ouverture Pulses of the Earth de Wim Henderickx un pendant contemporain captivant.

Avec le soutien des autorités flamandes, le Youth Orchestra Flanders offre un véritable tremplin à la génération montante (15-26 ans) et permet à ces jeunes musiciens d’entrer dans le circuit orchestral professionnel. L’orchestre travaille par projet et a conclu une collaboration avec les conservatoires et salles de concert flamands. Le Youth Orchestra Flanders fera ses débuts en février 2019, sur la scène de Flagey et du Concertgebouw Brugge.

programme

Wim Henderickx • Ouverture Pulses of the Earth
Sergey Prokofiev • Concerto pour violon n° 1, opus 19
Dmitry Shostakovich • Symphonie n° 10 en mi mineur, opus 93

artistes

Edwin Outwater

chef d'orchestre

Lorenzo Gatto, violon

soliste

Concert plus

en pratique

Tickets

à partir de €7

lieu

concert

’t Zand 34, 8000 Brugge | +32 70 22 12 12

billetterie

> online
www.concertgebouw.be

> call center
+32 70 22 12 12
(lundi > vendredi: 14:00 >17:00)

> billetterie

In&Uit Brugge
(’t Zand 34, 8000 Brugge -
heures d'ouverture)