Brussels Philharmonic | finalists announced

finalists announced

On Saturday night 21 May, the chairman of the jury has announced the names of the candidates who go through to the final of the Cello Competition. In alphabetical order, the finalists are: Yibai Chen, Bryan Cheng, Hayoung Choi, Jeremias Fliedl, Stéphanie Huang, Woochan Jeong, Marcel Johannes Kits, Taeguk Mun, Samuel Niederhauser, Petar Pejčić, Oleksiy Shadrin & Sul Yoon. Read more about the twelve cellists at

The final will take place from Monday May 30 until Saturday June 4. Each evening, the audience will hear two finalists, accompanied by Brussels Philharmonic conducted by Stéphane Denève. Each finalist will perform a concerto of his or her choice, as well as the unpublished work specially commissioned for this year’s competition.

Get your tickets now for the final at Bozar, or follow the competition via radio, TV or livestream.