Brussels Philharmonic | Happy 2023!

Happy 2023!

programme notes

written by Aurélie Walschaert
05.01.2023 DE SPIL ROESELARE
06.01.2023
FLAGEY
07.01.2023
SCHOUWBURG LEUVEN
08.01.2023
CONCERTGEBOUW BRUGGE

see more: all programme notes

The Brussels Philharmonic is starting off the new year with the jubilant strings and trumpet sounds of Handel’s Water Music Suite. The work was written to lend even more grandeur to a ‘river party’ organized by King George I on the Thames. This is followed by a voyage along the winding Vltava (Moldau) River in the symphonic poem Vltava by Smetana, and a touch of magic with Paul Dukas’ The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. Leopold Mozart’s Schlittenfahrt (Sleigh Ride) carries us off through a snowy winter landscape, complete with bells and the cracking of whips in the background. A swinging transition to airy polkas and catchy waltz tunes by the brothers Johann and Josef Strauss.

Frohes neues Jahr!

Music for the king

Throughout his career, Georg Frideric Handel (1685-1759) seemed to have a knack for making the right contacts. His talent took him, as a young man, from his home town of Halle to Hamburg, a prosperous and flourishing city where he wrote a number of successful operas. Encouraged by Prince Ferdinando de Medici, he soon travelled on to Italy, the birthplace of opera. There, too, he soon gained access to the ranks of the upper nobility. An important meeting with Prince Ernst August took him to Hanover. There, he was appointed Kapellmeister (conductor) and brought new life to the musical scene in the city, before settling definitively in England in 1717.


Op 17 July of that year, his Water Music had its premiere during a boating event held on the Thames by King George I of Great Britain. The event was described by the British newspaper The Daily Courant as follows: “At about 8 pm, the king and several aristocrats boarded a royal barge at the Palace of Whitehall for a boat trip upstream to Chelsea. Another barge carried 50 musicians. The whole river was covered with the boats and barges of people who wanted to attend the concert. King George I liked the work so well that he caused it to be played three more times, both on the trip upstream to Chelsea and on the way back to Whitehall.”


An ode to the beauty of Bohemia

It is not the Thames, but the Vltava (Moldau) River that plays a key role in the symphonic poem Vltava by the Czech composer Bedřich Smetana (1824-1884). In this work, Smetana united his love for his homeland with a new trend in Romantic orchestral music: telling a story in music. Thus, each movement of the six-part cycle titled Má Vlast (My Homeland) depicts an aspect of the nature, folklore or history of Bohemia. The cycle is rarely performed in full, but the second part, Vltava, is regularly heard in concert halls.

Smetana himself described the composition as follows: “Two springs pour forth in the shade of a Bohemian forest, one warm and gushing, the other cold and peaceful. Coming through Bohemia’s valleys, they grow into a mighty stream. Through the thick woods it flows as the merry sounds of a hunt are heard ever closer. It flows through green pastures where a wedding feast is being celebrated with song and dance. At night, wood and water nymphs revel in its sparkling waves. Reflected on its surface are castles – witnesses of bygone days. The Moldau swirls through rapids and a waterfall, finally flowing on toward Prague through the historic Vyšehrad (castle). There it vanishes from sight.”

The entire scene can be traced perfectly through the music. At the beginning, two flutes depict the emerging springs. They are joined by ever more and lower instruments, a sign that the stream is growing wider and deeper. A bit later, we hear the brass instruments announce the start of the hunt, and a bit farther, we hear the dance coming from the wedding. After a sudden increase in the river’s flow – the orchestra sounds loud and dissonant – the first theme returns in all its solemnity. Prague is now visible.

A touch of magic

Paul Dukas (1865-1935) also wrote a symphonic poem, The Sorcerer’s Apprentice: Scherzo after a ballad by Goethe. The work tells the story of a self-willed student sorcerer. As soon as the old master goes out the door, the youngster casts a spell on a broom to help him fill the bathtub with water from the river. But his plan soon gets out of hand: the broom refuses to stop and fills the whole house with water. The apprentice can’t remember how to stop the broom, so he splits it in two, thereby doubling the problem. Just as he is in danger of going under a flood wave, his master returns home and breaks the spell.

Dukas’ talent as orchestrator comes to its fullest expression in The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. He uses the rich palette of the orchestra’s tonal colours to denote the features of each character. The opening theme immediately sets the tone for the introduction of the disobedient broom – played by the bassoon. Soon thereafter follows a fast melody in the upper strings: the magic makes its entrance. The carefree sorcerer’s apprentice is represented by the woodwinds and the glockenspiel. Walt Disney fell hook, line and sinker for the filmic qualities of the work and in 1940, some 50 years after its composition, immortalized it in his unforgettable animated film Fantasia.

Waltzes and polkas

The Viennese waltz has not always enjoyed the popularity it does today, certainly not among elite circles. But at a time when the Viennese waltz was seen as “an inducement to sinful passion”, Johann Strauss the Elder (1804-1849) moved the genre, thanks to his refined orchestration and high-quality performance, from the Viennese taverns to the ballrooms and concert halls. Soon, his son Johann Strauss the Younger emerged as the new ‘waltz king’: he raised the melodic and structural potential of the genre to its highest point. With his waltzes, polkas and marches, he conquered Europe and the United States. Strauss’ most frequently performed work is most certainly On the Beautiful Blue Danube. Strangely enough, this waltz never met with success in Vienna itself. But during a concert for the Paris World Exhibition in 1889, the work was performed as an encore and earned jubilant applause.

Brussels Philharmonic | happy, 2023

Happy 2023!

notes de programme

explication : Aurélie Walschaert
05.01.2023 DE SPIL ROESELARE
06.01.2023
FLAGEY
07.01.2023
SCHOUWBURG LEUVEN
08.01.2023
CONCERTGEBOUW BRUGGE

toutes les notes de programme

Le Brussels Philharmonic entame la nouvelle année au son enjoué des cordes et des trompettes de la Water Music de Haendel, suite destinée à magnifier le voyage en bateau du roi George Ier sur la Tamise. Nous suivons ensuite le cours sinueux de la Moldau grâce au poème symphonique Vltava de Smetana, avant de nous laisser emporter par la magie de L’apprenti sorcier de Paul Dukas. La Schlittenfahrt de Leopold Mozart nous entraîne quant à elle dans un paysage hivernal enneigé, sur fond de clochettes et de claquement de fouets. L’idéal pour transiter vers les polkas légères et les valses captivantes des frères Johann et Josef Strauss.

Bonne année 2023 !

Musique royale

Georg Friedrich Haendel (1685-1759) semble avoir eu le nez fin pour nouer les bons contacts tout au long de sa carrière. Jeune homme, son talent l’entraîne de sa ville natale de Halle vers la ville prospère et florissante d’Hambourg, où il crée quelques opéras à succès. Encouragé par le prince Ferdinand de Médicis, il se rend peu de temps après en Italie, berceau de l’opéra. Là aussi, il accède très rapidement aux cercles les plus élevés de la noblesse. Une rencontre importante avec le prince Ernest-Auguste de Hanovre lui ouvre la voie vers Hanovre, où il devient maître de chapelle et insuffle une vie nouvelle au paysage musical, avant d’être appelé à s’établir définitivement en Angleterre en 1717.

Le 17 juillet de la même année, sa Water Music est créée à l’occasion d’une promenade en bateau du roi George Ier de Grande-Bretagne sur la Tamise. Le journal britannique The Daily Courant décrit l’événement comme suit : « Le roi et plusieurs nobles ont embarqué à huit heures du soir au palais de Whitehall pour remonter le fleuve jusqu’à Chelsea. À bord d’un autre bateau se trouvaient cinquante musiciens. Le fleuve tout entier aurait été empli de bateaux et de canots de personnes désireuses d’assister au concert. Le roi George Ier a été tellement séduit par l’œuvre qu’il l’a fait répéter trois fois pendant le trajet jusqu’à Chelsea et sur le chemin du retour à Whitehall. »


Une ode à la splendeur de la Bohême

Ce n’est pas la Tamise, mais la Moldau qui joue le rôle principal dans le poème symphonique Vltava du compositeur tchèque Bedřich Smetana (1824-1884). Il y combine son amour pour son pays natal avec une nouvelle tendance de la musique orchestrale romantique : la description d’une histoire en musique. Chaque partie du cycle en six parties Má Vlast (Ma patrie) esquisse un aspect de la nature, du folklore ou de l’histoire de la Bohême. Le cycle est rarement interprété dans son intégralité, mais la deuxième partie, Vltava, résonne régulièrement dans les salles de concert.

Smetana décrit lui-même sa composition en ces termes : « Deux sources jaillissent à l’ombre d’une forêt de Bohême, l’une chaude et agile, l’autre froide et endormie. À mesure qu’elles s’écoulent dans les vallées de Bohême, elles se transforment en une rivière majestueuse. Celle-ci traverse de noires forêts où retentissent les sonneries d’une chasse. Elle traverse de vertes prairies, où l’on célèbre un mariage en chantant et en dansant. Au clair de lune, les fées des eaux s’y ébattent dans le clapotis des vagues. Les châteaux se mirent à la surface de la rivière, témoins d’un passé révolu. La Moldau franchit des rapides et écume en cascade, avant de rouler vers Prague, en passant par le quartier historique de Vyšehrad. Puis se perd aux yeux du poète dans les lointains infinis. »

La musique épouse parfaitement toute la scène. Pour commencer, deux flûtes dépeignent le jaillissement des sources. Elles sont rejointes par un nombre croissant d’instruments plus graves, signe que le courant s’élargit et s’approfondit. Un peu plus tard, des cuivres annoncent le début de la battue en forêt, avant que ne retentisse, un peu plus loin, la danse des noces paysannes. Après une brusque accélération du courant (l’orchestre sonne fort et dissonant), le premier thème revient en toute solennité. Prague est en vue.

Un soupçon de magie

Paul Dukas (1865-1935) a lui aussi composé un poème symphonique : L’apprenti sorcier : scherzo d’après une ballade de Goethe. Cette œuvre raconte l’histoire d’un apprenti sorcier indocile. Dès que son vieux professeur s’en va, le jeune homme ensorcelle un balai pour l’aider à remplir la baignoire avec l’eau de la rivière. Mais son plan dérape vite : le balai est indomptable et emplit toute la maison d’eau. Incapable de se rappeler comment l’arrêter, l’apprenti coupe le balai en deux, redoublant ainsi le problème. Au moment où il est sur le point de succomber à un raz-de-marée, son professeur rentre chez lui et rompt le charme.

Le talent d’orchestrateur de Dukas s’exprime pleinement dans L’apprenti sorcier. Il utilise la riche palette de timbres de l’orchestre pour modeler le caractère de chaque personnage. Le thème d’ouverture, nimbé d’une atmosphère mystérieuse, ouvre immédiatement la voie à l’introduction du balai désobéissant, joué par le basson. Peu après suit une mélodie ténue dans les cordes aiguës : la magie entre en scène. L’apprenti sorcier toujours insouciant résonne ensuite dans les bois et les xylophones. Séduit par les qualités cinématographiques de l’œuvre, Walt Disney l’immortalise en 1940, quelque cinquante ans après sa création, dans le dessin animé Fantasia.

Valses et polkas

La valse viennoise n’a pas toujours joui de la popularité qu’elle connaît aujourd’hui, en particulier dans les hautes sphères de la société. Mais à une période où la valse de Vienne était considérée comme « une incitation aux passions pécheresses », Johan Strauss père (1804-1849) avait néanmoins réussi à sortir ce genre des brasseries viennoises pour l’imposer dans les salles de bal et de concert grâce à des orchestrations raffinées et des interprétations de qualité. Peu de temps après, son fils Johan Strauss II est sacré nouveau roi de la valse en élevant les possibilités mélodiques et structurelles du genre à leur apogée, de sorte que ses valses, polkas et marches séduisent l’Europe et les États-Unis. L’œuvre la plus interprétée de Strauss est sans aucun doute An der schönen blauen Donau. Étrangement, cette valse ne rencontre pas le succès à Vienne. Jouée en guise de rappel lors d’un concert donné à l’occasion de l’Exposition universelle de Paris en 1889, elle fait l’objet d’une véritable ovation.